Best carambola recipe ever

Carambola Recipe – Carambola Crumble

When it comes to cookery I am very inventive. My housemates and friends are always asking me how I come up with these recipes, my usual response is that I was hungry and saw the items in the fridge or I was under some stressed and I used this as my method of dealing with the situation. To be completely honestly I do not know why I like to create recipes like this one. It’s just natural for me to make things or revamp an old recipe.

Therefore, it was not a shock to anyone when I saw some five fingers in the fridge that a friend had dropped off and decided to try something different with it.  The results are what you will see in the slideshow below but first feel free to give the recipe a try I am sure you will not regret it.

Required Ingredients

  • 4 Carambola (Five Fingers), washed, cored and cubed
  • 250g brown sugar
  • 200g whole wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup of oats
  • 1/3 cup of cranberries
  • 120g butter
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon

Method – Carambola Recipe

  1. Put the cubed carambola into a pan; add three quarters of the sugar, the cinnamon and cover. Allow to stew gently for half an hour, stirring occasionally with a wooden spoon. Keep checking as they can easily burn at the beginning.
  2. Check that the fruit is cooked by mashing it a bit with a wooden spoon. The carambola should be soft but not puréed.
  3. Put the carambola into the serving dish and allow to cool. Set the temperature of the oven to 350 C.
  4. Mix the whole wheat flour, cranberries, oats , remaining sugar and the butter with your fingers in a bowl until it becomes like a breadcrumb consistency. Cover the stewed carambola with the crumble topping, without pressing down.
  5. Bake for approximately 30-40 minutes or until the crumble is golden brown and crunchy. Spoon a helping of crumble into a dish.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What about you? What makes you do what you do?

Liked my Carambola Recipe? Then please subscribe, comment, like and share this post.

Leave your questions and comments below, I'd love to hear from you.