Pumpkin Punch

It’s just another manic Monday 
I wish it were Sunday 
‘Cause that’s my funday 
My I don’t have to runday 
It’s just another manic Monday 

Manic Monday by the Bangles

How many of you can identify with the words in the ‘Bangles song. ME me me me me……Today was just one of those crazy days, where you either laugh till you drop or just walk off cursing. Fortunately I chose the former and laughed till tears came out of my eyes. So, what can I do now to congratulate myself for choosing the right path?. At first I thought I’d buy myself a chocolate but the I remember I was supposed to be cutting down on sweets, in the end I opted for a drink. There’s nothing like a cold glass of pumpkin punch to smooth that frown after a hectic day. 

I was first introduced to this drink in my early twenties, on a weekend visit to grandma’s house. After the first sip I was in love. For someone who had never been in love before it was a heady feeling. But after awhile my love affair with pumpkin punch like most affairs began to bore me. Since then I’ve been experimenting with different ingredients in the pumpkin punch but of course I always stay true to the main ingredient – the pumpkin. Personally, I think that this is one of the cheapest and easiest drinks to make. Not to mention its packed with nutrients so if you are in the market and have a TT$2.00 you can get a pound to prepare a cold beastly punch.

IMG-20130715-01065

Recipe for Pumpkin Punch

  • 1lb of pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup of condensed milk
  • 1/2 of 1 whole spice (cinnamon)
  • 1 tsp of vanilla
  • 1 tsp of lime juice
  • 1/4 cup of sugar    

IMG-20130715-01057Instructions

  1. 1. Broil pumpkin for at least 15 minutes.
  2. 2. Let cool before placing in juicer or blender

IMG-20130715-01061       IMG-20130715-01060

 

 

 

 

 

3. Add the other ingredients gradually while you blend the drink to your desired consistency.

IMG-20130715-01063

Benefits of eating pumpkin

IMG-20130715-01064

You will notice I didn’t use much sugar so if you like your drinks sweet I high recommend that you add more sugar and condensed milk in your version of this recipe. If your health conscious I suggest using honey instead of sugar and unsweetened almond milk instead of condensed milk. Trust me with the correct measurements it’ll taste even better that traditional versions. 

Don’t forget to leave your comment on Pumpkin punch in the comment box below. Like and share with your friends so more people can start enjoying this yummy treat

Also check out Simply Trini Cooking for there version of this drink. 

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Punch

Leave your questions and comments below, I'd love to hear from you.

