Practicing Blog Abstinence

download It is 8.17pm on the 1st of March 2013  and I have to post something, I need to post something, I want to post something, I can no longer hold back from the pleasure of it anymore …….

For the last couple of months I have been busy studying, working, soul-searching and in order for me to be more efficient at those task I had decided to give blogging a break. To my sorrow I really did not realize how long such a break would take much less how much I would miss doing something that had grown to be so much fun and rejuvenating for me. I strange thing is when I stopped blogging I also stopped cooking. Fortunately my present field of study Events Management gave me the opportunity not only to be part of some really spectacular events in Trinidad but to also sample some really creative dishes that I may soon bring my own interpretation of those delights to the blog.

To start the blog rolling again I present to you my recipe for Chocolate Cinnamon Apple Muffins this was the first time I made it and wow was this a hit with friends and family. It was a great way to use some left over apples and to impress some folk with my baking skills without crossing my budget because most of the items I already had in the kitchen I did not spend more than TT$20 on ingredients.

Chocolate Cinnamon Apple Muffins muffin sismuffin

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar (I used brown sugar but next time I may try white sugar to see if it comes out differently)

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

1/3 cup vegetable oil (Canola or Olive Oil are the healthier choices)

1 egg

1/3 cup of water

5 blocks of Chocolate grated or 3 tsp of chocolate powder

 

For Filling – Cinnamon Apples

3 apples, cored, peeled and chopped
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 cup brown sugar
1 dash of salt
1 dash of nutmeg

1/3 cup water

 

Directions:

1. Preheat the stove and put water to boil.

2. Place sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg in water.
3. Put cut and peeled apples in the pot and gently mix all the ingredients together.
4. Let shimmer for 10 – 15 minutes, stirring at least once every 5 minutes.
5. Once they are soft take off the stove.

6. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease six muffin cups or line with paper muffin liners.

7. Stir together 1 1/2 cup flour, 3/4 cup sugar, salt, baking powder and chocolate. Mix in oil, egg and water. Fold in apples. Spoon batter into prepared muffin cups, filling to the top of the cup.

8. Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

Leave your questions and comments below, I'd love to hear from you.

