GOURMET MEALS AT HOME: MOUSSAKA & MINI CHEESECAKE RECIPE

At least once a month I like to treat myself to something special just because I am such an amazing person :). Last month I choose to make dinner instead of going out to a restaurant or buying pizza and ice cream. Fortunately what followed not only saved me cash but  was more satisfying to my taste buds than the other choices I previously considered.

Figuring out what to cook was a bit of a challenge because for the last few months I have been trying to teach myself how to budget which often puts me in a position that I need to measure my wants against my needs. The outcome of this so far has been that I need everything I want, I know that is certainly not a good way to budget but I am making an effort. Cooking my own restaurant quality meals help my quest to minimize cost and to ensure that the meals prepared provide me with the amount of nutrition my body needs. The meal I am presenting today cost me less than TT$150.00 and yielded 3 serving for 2 people.

Menu

Moussaka

Cucumber Salad

Garlic Bread

Mini Cheesecakes

Drink – Red wine

Moussaka Recipe

  • 2 Eggplants
  • 2 potatoes
  • 1/2lb of ground beef (you can use ground chicken its cheaper & healthier)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (I used soya bean oil)
  • salt to taste
  • ground black pepper to taste
  • 2 onions, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons dried parsley
  • 4 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • salt to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Directions

  1. Lay the slices of eggplant & potato on plate, pour a light sprinkle of oil (olive oil preferably but any other works just fine) sprinkle lightly with salt, and set aside for 15 minutes to draw out the moisture. Then place in the microwave or oven for 10 mins to bake. Set aside on paper towels to drain.
  2. In a large skillet over medium heat, melt the butter and add the ground beef, salt and pepper to taste, onions, and garlic. After the beef is browned, sprinkle in the cinnamon, nutmeg, Worcestershire sauce and parsley. Pour in the tomato sauce (in this case I used ketchup) and mix well. Simmer for 15 minutes. Allow to cool.
  3. To make the bechamel sauce, begin by scalding the milk in a saucepan. Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Whisk in flour until smooth. Lower heat; gradually pour in the hot milk, whisking constantly until it thickens. Season with salt, and black pepper.
  4. Arrange a layer of potato as the base then add a layer of eggplant in a greased 9×13 inch baking dish. Cover eggplant with all of the meat mixture, and then sprinkle 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese over the meat. Cover with remaining eggplant, and sprinkle another 1/2 cup of cheese on top. Pour the bechamel sauce over the top, and sprinkle with the nutmeg. Sprinkle with the remaining cheese.
  5. Bake for 1 hour at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Original Recipe can be found on www.simpletrinicooking.com: http://bit.ly/2hVDz0F 

Link to video recipe  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WWWSWQYPYgI . 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Cucumber Salad

Ingredients

  • 3 cucumbers, grated with the skin
  • 4 cloves of garlic, grated fine
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. Toss together the cucumbers and other ingredients in medium size bowl.then place in the fridge for a few minutes. This can also be eaten at room temperature, but be sure to allow the cucumbers to marinate for at least 1/2 hour.

Garlic Bread – I had some left over dinner rolls in the fridge I just heated for under a minute in the microwave and spread the garlic butter I made on it.If I new this was so easy to make I’d have done it years ago.

Garlic Butter

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, combine softened butter, minced garlic and Parmesan cheese. Season with salt, pepper and paprika. Mix until smooth.

Dessert – No Bake Mini Cheesecake

  • 3/4 cup finely ground graham cracker crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 3 tablespoons white sugar (I used brown sugar)
  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream, whipped

Directions

  1. In a bowl, mix together crushed graham crackers with melted butter and the 3 tablespoons sugar.
  2. Press into a cupcake or muffin tins. Place in refrigerator until ready for use.
  3. In another bowl, beat cream cheese, 1/3 cup of sugar and lemon juice.
  4. Whip cream, and fold into cream cheese mixture.
  5. Spread into tins.
  6. Top with sliced pineapple (optional). Freeze for 1 hour, covered with foil.
  7. Place in refrigerator 30 minutes before serving.

I also got a nice bottle of red wine from True Value at Trincity Mall for $89.00 but cannot recall the name of it, I just remember it start with an M, was made in 2010 and that its a sweet wine. I hope that would be enough information to help you find it, if you decide to purchase a bottle. I know it sounds like plenty of work but you wouldn’t believe how much fun I had making these items and even more eating it :). So have a go at it and treat yourself today believe me a meal like this at The Waterfront Restaurant could never be this affordable.

 

2 thoughts on “GOURMET MEALS AT HOME: MOUSSAKA & MINI CHEESECAKE RECIPE

  1. Pingback: Moussaka and Mini Cheesecake « E-Bites

Leave your questions and comments below, I'd love to hear from you.

